at-Tazkirah: التذكرة

“And keep reminding, because reminding benefits the believers.” (51:55)

Forming Habits of Sunnah


Hadhrat Mufti Muhammad Taqi Usmani دامت برکاتہم narrates the following while giving a discourse on the Adaab [etiquettes] of drinking water:

Once Hadhrat Dr. Abdul Hayy Arifi Sahib رحمۃ اللہ علیہ related the following incident:

“Once I entered a mosque for prayer and was feeling thirsty. I took out water in a pot from the earthen jar provided in the mosque. According to my habit I sat down to drink the weter. A man who was standing nearby objected to this way of my drinking and told me that I could have as well drunk the water while standing. I told him that it was my habit to drink while sitting. The man retorted, saying that it ws a great virtue and honour to form the habit of  something which is a Sunnah of the Holy Prophet صلی اللہ علیہ و الہ سلم. The man was quite right. When a man is prone to form many habits he should try to form habits which are acts of the Sunnah and which are expected to earn for him great rewards and blessings from Almighty Allah.”

[Jamiah Masjid Baitul Mukarram, Karachi; 6th August 1993]

Filed under: Akhlaq & Adaab, Good Qualities, Malfoozat, Sunnah & Hadith

Leave a Reply

